Parable of the “Comment Of Great Price”

There once was a person in possession of much individuality.
This person possessed a unique appearance.
This person possessed a distinguishing tone of voice.
This person possessed a distinctive temperament.
This person possessed a discreet thought life.
This person possessed a special way to express themselves.
This person possessed a claim on their comfort zone.
This person possessed a novel creativity.
This person possessed a particular sense of humour.
This person possessed a periodic degree of “me time”.
This person possessed a personal sense of person.
This person possessed a person.
This person possessed a self.
This person possessed many possessions.
This person went on a journey.
This person is every person that ever lived or ever will live.
This person found a “one” thing.
This person is not every person that ever lived or ever will live.
This person sold all personal possessions.
This person bought it.

Thinking about occasions when on the internet I really brought it.

Thinking about occasions when on the internet I really bought it.

Thinking about a “Comment of Great Price“.

Am I really willing to sell my self over the internet as I sit here ?

Am I really willing to sell my self on the street as I walk there ?

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Parable of the “Comment Of Great Price”

  1. rockturner says:

    “If all could be taken out of human conduct which is performed merely from “strife,” or from “vain-glory,” how small a portion would be left!” Albert Barnes (1798-1870)
    It’s both ironic and timely that I read this from a link within my own blog.

  2. Bob Walsh says:

    To be in or @ the internet without being of it nor buy into it
    To be in or @ the street without being of it nor buy into it
    To realize I am myself without selling myself
    “Come purchase love,” it is asked of me
    “But, if I sold all I had, it would not be enough.
    If I had the fortune of Buffet and Gates
    It could never pay the pledge.”
    Love cannot be bought or sold only ‘given’ and ‘treasured.’
    A great price. A great price indeed.
    Worth all I have and all I am and never be mine, but will forever be my possession.
    Just a gift
    a gift from the Redeemer of love and life
    To drink a full and overflowing draught from the waters of the
    Everlasting springs
    Then to share it
    to share it in virtuosity
    to share it on byways of life
    “Come. Come all you who are thirsty, all you who hunger
    How long will you thirst and fade away
    And search for the illusive essence that can never satisfy
    Come, drink and eat freely to your fill
    Discover the Words of Great Price
    The assurance of sweet contentment
    True riches.
    It will cost all you ever had – to have all you will ever need.”

  3. rockturner says:

    Bob – Your words called out to my deep
    as have the memories we share
    and I’m sure you know that I experienced
    “assurance of sweet contentment
    True riches.”
    Be assured they’ll produce lasting results in me
    as did your challenging word
    “What are you going to do about it?”
    spoken into my spirit in time and place
    partway up a Gatineau hill.

Our weigh in way out boxing ring

