The parable of the “Double Click”

With Each Pull Of The Trigger

Somewhere there is a trashed remnant of the hard drive on which was stored the final email sent from one friend to another in a decade past. The recipient of that email did not reply,

 neither on time nor in time.

I was that recipient.

My brain’s memory archive contains that unanswered email.

My imagination contains all the possible potential replies.

Some time would pass while the world did a search for the sender of that email. The search eventually ended when Sonny brought back the results: a cold body was found lying in the back of a Jeep stopped partway up a remote Gatineau hill that had proved too steep to climb. Forensic investigation confirmed my friend’s final message to self.  My friend’s body was found with a few of his closest companions from his shortened life. One of those companions was an empty bottle. Another companion was the bass guitar that stood silent beside him at his memorial service; I heard many say he was the best bassist they’d ever heard; he was certainly the best I had ever played alongside. Another companion of final consequence was a piece of hardware that required a double click to effect a double barreled response.
I’ve long since “found closure” for the “what ifs” of my “non-response”…

…and yet…

…I’ll never “edit the draft” of the “invite” that was not “sent”.

The last face to face conversation I shared with my friend took place as, together, we loaded a couch I was giving him on to the roof racks of that very Jeep. The conversation was about eating an elephant one bite at a time. I sometimes wish I had shared that meal with him through to the last course. I am encouraged that another banquet table yet awaits. His passing influence on my life prompted me to reflect on some lyrical words I had penned a few years previously:

****************************

“”DOUBLE CLICKED“”
©Glenn Gardner 1998
In focused solitude he sits
Staring at the screen
Reaching for connection with
The lines and in between.

He clicks and rolls down
Then back up, left, then right.
Oh where is the flash
On this dark lonely night?

Scrolling text by click of mouse;
Waiting for response-
The icon jumps and twitches bright
Now, this is what he wants !

The radar’s echo bounces back;
So, someone’s really there.
He bared his soul to all the world;
Now, let’s see if they care.

Again he sits in solitude
Staring at the screen.
The wrist is still, the finger poised,
Brave heart will yet be seen.

He clicks and rolls down
Then back up, left, then right.
Oh where is the flash
On this dark lonely night?

******************************

I’m reminded that our multifaceted connections with persons have consequences. Often they are a matter of life or death.

Let’s choose life.

One bite at a time.

One byte at a time.

2 thoughts on “The parable of the “Double Click”

  1. rockturner says:

    -‎”Not what goes into the mouth defiles a man;
    but what comes out of the mouth, this defiles a man.”
    Matt 15:11 NKJV
    -“A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil.For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.”
    Luke 6:45 NKJV
    -“But they have not all obeyed the gospel. For Isaiah says, “LORD, who has believed our report?” So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.
    But I say, have they not heard? Yes indeed:
    “Their sound has gone out to all the earth,
    And their words to the ends of the world.”
    Romans 10: 18-16 NKJV

    • rockturner says:

      Today is a turning point in time for me.
      In the processing of “wildernessness”
      I heard God say,
      (I don’t mean I heard a voice,)
      “There are no categories in a wilderness”.
      I will ponder this in my heart.
      As a first step in this direction I removed all categories but one.
      The one category standing is “Journey” on the first two posts.
      I will clean up the others as my agenda allows.

Our weigh in way out boxing ring

